the sound of keys.

December 5, 2010 § 1 Comment

I love the sound of keys at night.

One full counter-clockwise turn and another swiftly around the other way. Click. The door whispers over the floor. The light from the stairwell slowly peeks into our dark apartment, inches further into the room, and finds my resting face.

He’s home.

The distance closes between us, and my blood surges with excitement. For this, I don’t sleep as deeply anymore. To better hear, to better feel, the soft sounds of his return.

§ One Response to the sound of keys.

  • April says:

    I love this so much, Mil! Gave me the tinglies because I kinda know what you’re referring to.

    The simplicity of this post is what I like best. How a small event could indicate something huge.

    I love.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading the sound of keys. at i care about things..

meta

