You must trust.

April 19, 2011 § Leave a comment

I just read the words, “Trust the Universe,” and it immediately made me feel good.

I like the idea of fate. The idea that everything will somehow come together. The idea that, little by little, piece by piece, everything will be in the right place at the right time, because you were meant to be as you are with what you have, with what you know. Indeed, you were meant to be as you are where you stand. Today and for always.

At times, it can be a relief to think that I’m not behind the wheel. But, despite the fact that I like the idea of fate, my actions expose my true belief system. I believe in work. For me, it’s much easier not to trust the unknown – the universe, everything that’s seemingly out of your control – and, instead, rely on work. You do work; you get stuff done. You drive every moving part forward. Without you, nothing changes.

But when I look at the life that unfolds around me, I can’t help but see how wrong I am. My life is the product of both chance and persistence, serendipity and diligence, good timing and great follow-through. Everywhere I’m headed starts with the blessings and the opportunities I’ve been given, and is realized by late nights, sweat beads, and tired hands.

It can’t be as simple as just trusting in myself, or even just in fate. So, I’d make an amendment.

Trust in yourself and in your power to do. The universe will see you through.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You must trust. at i care about things..

meta

